Blue Star Families is an organization built on the strength of its volunteer network. These volunteers, who provide vital links to local military communities, give selflessly of their time,talent and resources. The Blue Star Families Salute to Distinction Award Program recognizes our outstanding volunteers who demonstrate exemplary service to military families and further the Blue Star Families mission within their respective communities.
It is our pleasure to announce the 2017 Salute to Distinction Quarter 1 Award Winner:Savannah Hewett, Chapter Director, Kirtland Air Force Base in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Savannah volunteered over 100 hours of her time and participated in 13 events – just in Quarter1! She attended and/or facilitated:  a Yellow Ribbon event, multiple events with the Housingoffice, several Newcomer’s Briefings, an event with deployed families through the Hearts Apartprogram, and a card-making event for our national Blue Star Neighbors Celebration. Savannahmade a huge impact at the base elementary school through her Read Across America event inMarch, where she helped teachers and students engage in a school-wide door decoratingcontest to celebrate Dr. Seuss. Everyone loved it!

Here is a comment from one of Savannah’s nomination letters:“Savannah goes above and beyond to collaborate with base leadership to host events inpartnership with local organizations and units. Additionally, she collaboratesprofessionally with BSF staff. She is a true leader among our Chapter Directors and shares creative ideas with everyone!”
Another nominator said:
“Blue Star Families is a household name at Kirtland AFB because of Savannah’s efforts.She is constantly collaborating with community leaders, she works hard to have apresence on local social media pages, and she attends every event she possibly can (andshe is invited to A LOT!). She is an integral part of the volunteer team, always ready tojump in and help any way she can.”
We are so proud of Savannah’s accomplishments. Congratulations, Savannah, on being namedour 2017 Salute to Distinction Quarter 1 Award Winner!