Loading Events

Getting Ready for College: Surviving High School Military Transitions

Aug 25, 2022

5:00 pm EDT - 6:00 pm EDT

Getting Ready for College: Surviving High School Military Transitions
Aug 25th at 5-6 PM EST / 4-5 PM CT / 3-4 PM MT / 2-3 PM PT.
Virtual via Zoom

It’s never too early to start planning for college!
Join Blue Star Families and JT Guerrero, Ph.D., Founder and CEO of Equalyx, LLC for our second in a three-part webinar series to help your student prepare for the journey to college and beyond. These webinar sessions are designed to provide practical tools, tips, and strategies for military families as they plan for secondary and postsecondary schools. Join us for one or for all. Read below to learn more about the webinar series. All webinars are from 5-6 PM EST / 4-5 PM CT / 3-4 PM MT / 2-3 PM PT.
August 25: Getting Ready for College: Surviving High School Military Transitions
For U.S. high school students, the college preparation, application, and decision-making process have long been a source of stress and anxiety, and the COVID-19 pandemic appears to have only made things worse. Military families have the added pressure of possible unexpected permanent changes of station that can move their families to unexpected locations. By starting early and planning wisely, students can have an exciting senior year rather than one that is full of frustration and headaches.
This webinar will walk through the steps that parents can take to guide their students from their freshman to senior year of high school. This session will include information on the following: understanding the different types of postsecondary institutions such as two-year, four-year, public, and private; calculating the true cost of college; timing of scholastic tests; planning college visits; producing an application package; creating a college timeline; and preparing transferrable information in case of an unexpected deployment

National Capital Region

Virtual Event