August 2020 Newsletter

July 31, 2020

2 New Chapters Sponsored by CSX!

CSX pride in service

We have two upcoming virtual Chapter launch events—one in Dayton (August 17 – 21), and one in Tampa (August 24 – 28). Stay tuned for more info! Find a local Chapter in your area.

 

Update Your Preferences (Help us help you!)

Blue Star Families Computer

Did you move? Let us know! We have a lot of exciting things coming up, and we want to get you the fun stuff in your neighborhood! Update your info here.

 

Blue Star Summer Camp – The Home Edition

summer camp paper bag animal puppets

Camp kicked off last week! Check out some of the amazing activities our campers enjoyed during Scales and Tails week. Haven’t signed up yet? There’s still time! Register here.

 

Caregivers Values Workshop

American Flag Blue Star Families

Calling all military spouses and caregivers! If you want to learn how to live out your core values for a more balanced life, this virtual discussion is for you. Register here to join us on August 17th at 5 PM ET / 4 PM CT / 3 PM MT / 2 PM PT.

 

New Blue Star Careers Benefit

Fortinet Cyber Security

Looking to embark on a new career path? Take advantage of the Fortinet Network Security Expert (NSE) program launching August 3rd. It’s NO COST for Blue Star Families members! Learn more here about this 8-level certification program to begin building beneficial workforce skills.

 

Reduce Stress this Summer Season

Blue Star Families Member Benefits

Did you know, as a Blue Star Families member, there are amazing benefits available to you at no cost? Click HERE to see the full list of programs. From Headspace to Spiritune, and Caribu, these resources can help you reduce stress this summer season—whether you’re PCSing or staying put and navigating entertaining the kids during a pandemic.

 

Moving Blue Star Stories

CSX Dayton Chapter Video

Our call for you to share Blue Star Stories is centered around showcasing the real solutions we find for military life challenges. Check out this video, which shows a few great ways Chapters like Dayton are working hard to help military families feel a sense of belonging during these unprecedented times!

 

Welcome Week 2020

Welcome Week 2020

We’re planning something BIG to welcome military families to their new communities after PCSing during this crazy summer. Keep an eye on your inbox for upcoming activities, giveaways, volunteer opportunities, and more!

 

Save the Date

Save the Date Survey Fielding 2020

Fielding for the 2020 Military Family Lifestyle Survey is just around the corner. Share your challenges and experiences starting September 8th. Learn more about the survey here.

 

Negotiating Salary during COVID

BSF webinar

Join us on August 19th at 1 PM ET / 12 PM CT / 11 AM MT / 10 AM PT for a webinar with CSX to learn about their hiring initiatives, how to negotiate salary during COVID-19, and the community impact with its “Pride In Service” programs. Register here.

 

Thank You, Northrop Grumman!

Northrop Grumman

We thank Northrop Grumman for their continued support during this time as we continue to serve our military families by providing ongoing military spouse career information, national and localized resources, virtual events, and unique opportunities designed to inform, create community, and combat isolation during this time.